Jury Duty Information
Regulation: The Juror process is governed by the Texas Uniform Jury Handbook as authorized by chapter 23 of the Government Code.
The District Clerk is the officer in charge of the jury selection process. The clerk:
1. Determines the number of Potential jurors required to begin a trial
2. Sends summonses to Jurors
3. Processes jurors to panels
4. Pays jurors for service
Reporting for Jury Duty
Jurors should report to the Taylor County Expo Center, 1801 ES 11th Street, Display Building, through gate 1 (across from the Abilene Zoo) where they will need to be screened through security, and temperatures will be taken. All reporting jurors will need to bring the summons, and the COVID-19 questionnaire they received in the mail with them, completely filled out.
COVID-19 Security Measures Temperatures will be taken at the entrance, seating is spaced 6 feet apart, social distancing will be enforced, chairs in facility will be sanitized, masks are required at all times, (if you do not have a mask a disposable one will be provided) hand sanitations stations will be throughout facility, public water fountains will be closed for public safety, restroom occupancy will be limited to two persons, mic covers will be provided, and face shields if necessary.
Click link for Reporting Jurors for this Week
Jury Clerk—Meagan Beltran
Why Is Jury Service Important?
The United States Constitution and the Texas Constitution guarantee all people, regardless of race, religion, sex, national origin, or economic status, the right to trial by an impartial jury. Justice ultimately depends to a large measure upon the quality of the jurors who serve in our courts.
What Is My Duty As A Juror?
As a juror, you must be fair and impartial. Your actions and decisions must be free of any bias or prejudice. Your actions and decisions are the foundation of our judicial system.
How Was I Selected?
You were selected at random from a list of voter registrations and a list of driver registrations from the county in which you live.
GENERAL QUALIFICATIONS FOR JURY SERVICE (GOV’TCODE SECTION 62.102)
To serve as a juror you must meet all qualifications: you must
1. Be at least 18 years of age;
2. Be a citizen of this state and a resident of the county in which you are to serve as a juror;
3. Be qualified under the Constitution and laws to vote in the county in which you are to serve as a juror (Note: you DO NOT have to be registered to vote to be qualified to serve as a juror)’
4. Be of sound mind and good moral character;
5. Be able to read and write;
6. Not have served as a juror for six days during the preceding 3 months in the county court or during the preceding 6 months in the district court;
7. Not have been convicted of misdemeanor theft or felony;
8. Not have been under indictment or other legal accusation of a misdemeanor theft or felony theft or any other felony charge.
9. A person claiming a disqualification or exemption based on the lack of citizenship, the person will no longer be eligible to vote if the person fails to provide proof of citizenship; or lack of residence in the county must no longer be eligible to vote in the county (GC, Sec. 62.0142)
LEGAL EXEMPTIONS FROM JURY SERVICE (GOV’TCODE, SECTION 62.106)
You may be excused from jury service if:
1. You are over 70 years of age
2. You have legal custody of a child or children younger than 12 years of age and service on the jury would require leaving the children without adequate supervision;
3. You are a student at a public or private high school;
4. You are enrolled and attend college;
5. You are an officer or an employee of the senate, the house of representatives, or any department commission, board, office or other agency in the legislative branch of the state government;
6. You are the primary caretaker of a person who is an invalid unable to care for himself or herself (This exemption does not apply to health care workers);
7. You are a member of the United States Military forces serving on active duty and deployed to a location away from the person’s home station and out of the person’s county of residence. 8. Covid screening You are not required to claim an exemption. It is your choice.
Click link to submit a disqualification or exemption
Map of Expo
Will I Be Paid For Being A Juror?
Yes. You will be paid a minimum of $7.50 for the first day you actually serve on the jury and $40.00 for every additional day.
FAILURE TO ANSWER SUMMONS AND PENALTIES
A person who fails to comply with this summons is subject to a contempt action punishable by a fine of not less than $100.00 nor more than $1000.00 (Government Code, Section 62.0141). Additionally, a person shall be fined not less than $100.00 nor more than $500.00 if 1 fails to attend court in obedience to the notice without reasonable excuse; 2 files claim of exemption from jury service. (Government Code, Section 62.111)