Misdemeanor

Misdemeanor Criminal Court

 The County Clerk is the official record keeper for judicial records of Class A and B misdemeanors filed in the County Courts at Law. These criminal cases are heard in the County Courts at Law and are prosecuted by the Criminal District Attorney for Taylor County. Taylor County has two County Courts at Law.  The maximum punishment for a conviction of a Class A misdemeanor is a $4,000.00 fine and 1 year in jail plus court costs. Punishment ranges by fine, court costs, probation or imprisonment in the county jail.  , Class C misdemeanor appeals from municipal courts and Justice of the Peace courts in Taylor County are filed in the Clerk’s office. 

The County Clerk’s duties as Clerk of the Court are extensive and include:

  • ·         Record keeping for all judicial and court records,
  • ·         Preservation of court records
  • ·         Calculation of court cost
  • ·         Coordination with Law Enforcement agencies and the Jail for arrest warrants,
  • ·         Safekeeping of cash bonds deposited by individuals to secure a defendants release from jail,
  • ·         Providing specific case documents to interested parties.

 A person’s court case is filed in County Court at Law #1 and #2 depending on the last name of the defendant.  A-K is filed in County Court #1; last names beginning with L-Z are filed in County Court at Law #2. [Provide links to these courts]

 Felony information is only available in the District Clerk’s office

 Fine and Court Cost

For fiscal year 2015, the Commissioners Court requested transferring responsibility of collecting misdemeanor fines and court cost to the County Clerk’s office.  If convicted, a defendant owes Taylor County and the State of Texas court cost; the amount is determined by Texas statutes.  Failure to pay the amount owed subjects the individual to arrest and incarceration. 

 If not receiving probation, fine and court costs are due the day of conviction and payable in the County Clerk’s Office.  If the defendant is unable to pay the amount at the time of conviction, the defendant may make application for a payment plan.  If a defendant receives jail time, the application for a payment plan must be completed at the time of release from jail.  Applications are available in the County Clerk’s office as well as online. Only those who live 30 miles or more from Taylor County may use the online application.  You may call the office to verify your eligibility. [insert link]

 A $2.00 administrative fee is charged on each and every payment regardless of probation or payment plans.  If you pay the total/full amount of fine and court cost in one payment, you will avoid having a payment plan and the administrative fees each time you make a payment. 

 If paying by mail, the office accepts cashier’s checks or money orders.  The mailing address is:

Taylor County Clerk’s Office
300 Oak Street, Suite 100
Abilene, Texas, 79601

 If you receive probation, your fine and court cost will be payable through the probation office.

 Credit and Debit Card Payments

 Payment may also be made with debit and credit cards utilizing Certified Payments.  Utilizing a credit or debit card will increase the amount paid by 2.85% for each payment. Make Online Payment here

 The County must have your case number to correctly apply the payment to the right case.  The case number can be found in numerous documents received in Court or at the jail upon release.  You can also find the case number at [insert link/page].  If you have questions, please call the office.

 Payments must be directed to the correct Certified Payments Bureau code for the County Clerk’s office.  The bureau code for the County Clerk’s office is 5554143.

 A $2.00 administrative fee is charged on each and every payment regardless of probation or payment plans.  If you pay the total/full amount of fine and court cost in one payment, you will avoid having a payment plan and the administrative fees each time you make a payment. 

 

Cash Bonds

 In some circumstances a cash bond is put up to secure someone’s release from jail prior to going to court.  After the case is disposed, the person who deposited the cash bond may apply to the Judge who heard the case to have the cash released and the person must follow the process identified by the Court.  When the person comes to the Clerk’s office to receive the reimbursement, the person must furnish the Court’s release, the receipt for the cash bond and positive identification.  The County will withhold a 5% administrative fee from the total.

 You must contact the Court Administrator for instructions on cash bond releases.